The Joeys have been drawn in Group C of the FIFA U-17 World Cup Chile 2015 along with Germany, Mexico, and Argentina.

The official draw for the tournament was held at the Theater of the Centro de las Artes 660 in Santiago de Chile today.

Speaking after the draw Joeys head coach Tony Vidmar was under no illusions about the challenge that Australia will now face.

“We’re coming up against three powerhouse countries in world football but that is what you expect at the World Cup,” Vidmar said.

“Australia is not going to get any better exposure, or a better chance to test ourselves against the best in the game, than this.

“Our preparation for these games steps up from now and we will work hard to ensure we represent Australia with pride.”

Australia begins its FIFA U-17 World Cup Chile campaign against Germany on October 18, before taking on Mexico, and finishing with Argentina.

All of the Joeys’ group stage matches will be at the Estadio Municipal Nelson Oyarzún Arenas, Chillán, 400km south of Santiago.

Vidmar said playing all group stage matches in one city would be a positive for the Joeys.

“There’s a few groups where they have to move around the country, so it’s handy to have all our games in the same city,” Vidmar said.

24 nations have qualified for the FIFA U17 World Cup Chile 2015 which will be held at seven (7) venues throughout Chile from 17 October to 8 November.

The top two teams in all six groups will automatically advance to the Round of 16, and they’ll be joined by the four best-placing teams across the six groups.

FIFA U17 World Cup 2015 – Groups

Group A: Chile, Croatia, Nigeria, USA

Group B: England, Guinea, Brazil, Korea Republic

Group C: Australia, Germany, Mexico, Argentina

Group D: Belgium, Mali, Honduras, Ecuador

Group E: South Africa, Costa Rica, Korea DPR, Russia

Group F:   New Zealand, France, Syria, Paraguay